whatshot 27 Pts
remove_red_eye 27 favorite 0 mode_comment 0
access_time March 20, 2014 at 6:53 AM in Culture by Charlie Grammer

Congratulations to the 2014 GDC Awards winners

Last of Us nabs Game of the Year award.

Last of Us nabs Game of the Year award.

Every year at the Game Developers Conference several awards are given out for categories such as best audio and best downloadable game.

Bioshock Infinite did its series proud, obtaining two awards during this event, namely the Best Audio and Best Visual Art awards. Papers, Please won awards for both innovation and Best Downloadable Game. The Last of Us managed to nab three awards, including Game of the Year.

 In addition to the awards given to various games, there are a select number of awards that are given to  developers who have contributed to the art, science, and craft of videogames. The first award in this category, the Pioneer Award, was granted to Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill, the cofounders of Riot Games for their title League of Legends.
The next developer-centric award is the Ambassador Award, which is given to those who help games “advance to a better place” either through advocacy or action. This award went to the creator of Feminist Frequency, Anita Sarkeesian. For those unaware, this is a series that explores the representation of women in both game narratives and pop culture narratives.
Ken Kutaragi, widely known as the “Father of the PlayStation”, was granted the Lifetime Achievement award. The man who was directly responsible for the creation of the PlayStation platform was presented with the award by Mark Cerny, the lead architect of the PlayStation 4.

Meggan Scavio stated, “There were so many amazing and diverse games this year, ranging from the massive world of Grand Theft Auto V, to the heartbreaking and visceral game The Last of Us, to the thought-provoking Papers, Please. All the GDCA winners and nominees took risks that paid off in brilliant gameplay and unforgettable moments. It’s an amazing time for gaming, and we’re proud to recognize titles with mature narratives and innovative gameplay that are truly pushing the medium forward.”

The full list of awards and winners can be found below:

Best Downloadable Game

Papers, Please (Lucas Pope)

Best Narrative

The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)

Best Visual Art

BioShock Infinite (Irrational Games/2K Games)

 Ambassador Award

Anita Sarkeesian

 Best Technology

Grand Theft Auto V (Rockstar North/Rockstar Games)

 Best Game Design

The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)

 Best Handheld/Mobile Game     

The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds (Nintendo EAD/Nintendo)

 Best Audio

BioShock Infinite (Irrational Games/2K Games)

 Pioneer Award

Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill of Riot Games

 Best Debut

The Fullbright Company (Gone Home)

 Innovation Award   

Papers, Please (Lucas Pope)

 Audience Choice Award

Kerbal Space Program (Squad)


Lifetime Achievement Award

Ken Kutaragi

 Game of the Year

The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)

Congratulations to all the winners.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: