whatshot 95 Pts
remove_red_eye 95 favorite 0 mode_comment 0
access_time March 27, 2013 at 10:33 PM in Culture by Ramon Aranda

Journey Earns ‘Best Game’ of the 2013 Game Developers Choice Awards


Earlier tonight, the 2013 Game Developers Choice Awards took place in San Francisco, with six of the eleven awards going to thatgamecompany’s Journey, including Best Audio, Best Game Design, Best Visual Arts, Best Downloadable Game, the Innovation Award, and the coveted Game of the Year Award.

Journey was critically praised after its release in 2012 on the PlayStation Network, including a 4.5 out of 5 review here at GotGame, in what was easily thatgamecompany’s best title to date, besting previously loved titles fl0w and Flower.

In Journey, players take on the role of a mystical character who treks towards a mysterious mountain across the desert.  The game uses magnificent visuals with a calm and relaxing soundtrack that has gamers encountering random players during their voyage.

walkingdead3Arkane Studios’ Dishonored, won the first ever Game Developers Choice Awards Audience Award category, while Telltale Games’ critically and commercially-acclaimed The Walking Dead took home Best Narrative and Far Cry 3 earned the award for Best Technical game.

In addition this year, BioWare founders, Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk, were honored by the Choice Awards Advisory Committee with the Lifetime Achievement Award for their contributions to the game development community. The two are responsible for a catalog full of classic RPG titles that inspired a generation, including Baldur’s Gate, Neverwinter Nights, Knights of the Old Republic, Mass Effect and Dragon Age.The full list of recipients for the 13th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards are:

Best Downloadable Game
Journey (thatgamecompany)

Best Narrative
The Walking Dead (Telltale Games)

Best Visual Arts
Journey (thatgamecompany)

Ambassador Award
Chris Melissinos

Best Technology
Far Cry 3 (Ubisoft)

Best Game Design
Journey (thatgamecompany)

Best Handheld/Mobile Game
The Room (Fireproof Studios)

Best Audio
Journey (thatgamecompany)

Pioneer Award
Steve Russell

Best Debut
FTL: Faster Than Light (Subset Games)

Innovation Award
Journey (thatgamecompany)

Audience Choice Award
Dishonored (Arkane Studios)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk

Game of the Year
Journey (thatgamecompany) 


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: