309 views 0 comments

Dragon Quest X Will Delete Your Character

by on August 6, 2012
 

Even though it is not yet available in the states, Dragon Quest X is officially out in Japan and thousands of people are taking their warriors online to wander through the beautiful world designed by renown artist: Akira Toriyama. For those of you who plan on investing on a substantial amount of time and money being spent online, you need to keep something in mind.

According to Square Enix who is managing the servers for the first MMO on the Wii, you will have to play the game once every three months or your character might be deleted. For those of you who can’t figure out why this is news, most MMORPG games that are out there currently do not delete your character. For example, I still have a character that is saved on the Final Fantasy XI servers and I haven’t played the game in 10 years. So, if I wanted to go back to it, my character will still be there and it is something that the team has that could entice me to try to pick it up again and play.

Something else that they are doing that I find particularly interesting is that they are including something called “Kids Time”. With this mode you will be able to play the game online for a predetermined short amount of time without having to pay the subscription fee. However, If you forget to play the game in three months, you can probably expect to have to do it all over again the next time that you log in.

This is a good move to save money on server costs and make an environment that is more safe for people with addictive personalities that can at times feel that they have to play the game all the time or else their monthly subscription is being wasted.

Be the first to comment!
 
Leave a reply »

 

Leave a Response