whatshot 227 Pts
remove_red_eye 27 favorite 0 mode_comment 2
access_time September 15, 2011 at 11:07 AM in Features by AJ Dellinger

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection: What You Need to Know

The Metal Gear Solid series is one of the most defining franchises in gaming. It brought stealth games to the forefront, giving a whole new branch to the action genre, and showing just how important cardboard boxes are. While Hideo Kojima isn’t talking about the newest installment of the series, Metal Gear Rising, you’ll still be able to get your fix for awhile by re-experiencing the joys of stealth kills and 25 minute cut scenes with the Metal Gear Solid HD Collection.

The collection will include a high definition remastering of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker. You’ll also get to play the original Metal Gear game for the MSX and VR missions released with Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance. But wait, there’s more! Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker has been completely updated with “renovated graphics, with every font, gauge and icon resized and enhanced to make use of the larger play screen, while a six-player multi-player mode has also been implemented.”

The games will be on one blu-ray for the PS3 and two discs for the Xbox 360. While there is a lot to look forward to with this collection, there is one thing that makes me a little uncomfortable: the nude Raiden scene in Sons of Liberty is going to be in high definition. I’m not sure my eyes are ready for that quite yet. Also unfortunate is the absence of the first Metal Gear Solid title from this release. It just means you’ll have to bust out the PSOne while you wait for this collection to drop.



  • Barnaby Jones September 15, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    Awesome. I’ve only played the first and fourth and loved them both. Now I get to play the rest and possibly (but probably not) understand what the hell is going on! 😀

  • Cheddahz September 15, 2011 at 5:39 PM

    Sweetness, can’t wait to get this.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: